COGIS - Complaint Reports

Form 18/18A                                                    Related   Doc
Date Rec'd: 11/7/2011 Method Received:   
DocNum: 200328147 Routed to Agency:  
Complaint Type: API number:   05-123-34413

Complainant Information

Name: SHARON ANDERSON
Address:  LONGVIEW , CO 
Date Received: 11/7/2011
Connection to Incident: nearby surface owner

Description of Complaint:

Operator: SUNDANCE ENERGY INC
Oper. No.

10340

Date of Incident: 11/7/2011
Type of Facility: WELL
Well Name/No.  
County Name: WELD
Operator contact:
qtrqtr: SWSW section: 5 township: 2N range: 68W meridian: 1


Complaint Issue
Issue:     NOISE Assigned To:    Jim Precup Status:     Resolved     4/23/2012
Description: COMPLAINANT CALLED ABOUT DRILLING OPERATIONS NEAR HER HOUSE. CANNOT SLEEP. WORK GOES ON 24/7 7 DAYS A WEEEK - NEVER QUITS. WORRIED ABOUT HER HEALTH AND THOSE OF CHILDREN AT NEARBYB SCHOOL.
Resolution: jim worked with Sundanace to put up hay bales, limit truck traffic and engine control to reuce noise. Noise surveys were difficul tto take due to excessive background noise of Hwy 119. Highest reading at site was 65dba.
Letter Sent?:     N Report Links:     

Other Notifications
Date:    1/20/2012 Agency:    Cogcc Contact:    Jim Precup
Response or Details
I did not hear of any additional noise complaints until after the fracing was done i went out to the location on January ninth and found that there were still frac tanks, but all the wells were flowing back into tanks, indicating that fracing had already occured. I called Dean Rogers with Sundance and asked him if they were done with fracing . He told me that they still had to frac the niobrara in all 4 wells. I asked him if he would meet with me and Sharon. He agreed. I set up a meeting on the 20th and met with Dean, Sharon and her Husband Don on location. I explained what the equipment does and why they are doing construction on it after the wells are drilled. I asked Dean if he had any dates for when he was going to frac the wells and he said he didnot know at this time, however he was sure they would not be frac'd at the same time. He provided me with docuementation that all the wells were frac'd during daylight hours and he told me that they would also frac the addtional zones during daylight hours. He agreed for them to load the sand during daylight hours and he also said he would keep the truck traffic as quiet as he could. Sharon said that the truck traffic didnot bother her, just the problem with not sleeping at night. Dean said he would put them up if necessary, but she and her husband didnot see that as a problem if the noise was during the day. She said that they could put up noise barriers at the back of her house if it would help. She is located just east of the location. Dean said that they would mitigate the sound at the location. She also said that there was some damage to her windows and house because of the vibration. That was not addressed by dean at the meeting. She said that her husband had just been laid off and he was looking for work. Dean said that there were numerous jobs in the oil and gas sector. I did not pursue either of these conversations, as i wanted to address the noise and the notification. Both were discussed and Dean agreed to let me know when they would frac as soon as he knew. I will interface it with the Andersons when it occures.
 
Date:    11/10/2011 Agency:     Contact:    Mike Leonard
Response or Details
MIKE WENT TO THE SITE AT 5:00 AM ON 11/10/2011. SITE WAS IN COMPLIANCE WITH NOISE REGULATIONS. DECIBELS READING WAS 65 AT 5:30 AM. LOTS OF HIGH FREQUENY TRAFFIC NOISE FROM NEARBY HIGHWAY. RIG IS 650 FEET FROM NEAREST HOEM IN LONGVIEW MANUFACTURED HOME PARK. SOME HAY BALE BARRIERS HAD BEEN SET UP.
 
Date:    11/10/2011 Agency:    COGCC Contact:    JIM PRECUP
Response or Details
CONDUCTED SITE VISIT ON 11-10-2011 AT 7:00AM. IN COMPLIANCE WITH NOISE REGULATIONS.
 
Date:    11/10/2011 Agency:    cogcc Contact:    Jim Precup
Response or Details
inspected drilling rig for noise issues on 11/10/2011,11/15/2011,11/18/2011,11/23/2011. i visited with Dean consultant for Sundance about the noise issues. we modified the placement of bales extending them both north an south of the location.I told Dean that if we continued to get complaints from Sharon Anderson, I would ask the director to authorize only daytime drilling. Both the rig and Sundance worked toward compliance. The rig did not tac out the engines when pulling pipe--a normal operation and scheduled trucks whenever possible for daylite operations. These measures allowed for a reduction in complaints.
 
Date:    11/7/2011 Agency:     Contact:    JIM PRECUP
Response or Details
JIM CONDUCTED SITE VISIT @4:00PM ON. DRILLING RID WAS IDLEING. WIATED FOR HOUR. NO DRILLING OPERATIONS. RIG IS FORT DRILILNG #5. SITE NEAR SHW 119 AND WCR 3
 

Final Resolution
Date Case Closed? Letter Sent? COGCC person
4/23/2012 Y Margaret Ash

jim worked with Sundanace to put up hay bales, limit truck traffic and engine control to reuce noise. Noise surveys were difficul tto take due to excessive background noise of Hwy 119. Highest reading at site was 65dba.




Tuesday, August 20, 2019