COGIS - Complaint Reports

Form 18/18A                                                    Related   Doc
Date Rec'd: 6/25/2010 Method Received:   
DocNum: 200257763 Routed to Agency:  
Complaint Type: API number:   05-123-08753

Complainant Information

Name: Dirk Belfork
Address:   ,   
Date Received: 6/25/2010
Connection to Incident: property owner

Description of Complaint:

Operator: K P KAUFFMAN COMPANY INC
Oper. No.

46290

Date of Incident: 6/25/2010
Type of Facility: WELL
Well Name/No.  
County Name: WELD
Operator contact:
qtrqtr: SWSE section: 22 township: 2N range: 68W meridian: 1


Complaint Issue
Issue:     AESTHETICS Assigned To:    Jim Precup Status:     Resolved     4/21/2010
Description: Complainant complained that a well located in proximity to his property had not produced in some time and he wanted it removed as it detracted from everyone's property. The well equipment was a pumpjack-electric motor-high density fence-sign. The area was now high density and property owners had disregarded all setbacks. There was encroachment on the wellsite by the surrounding property owners with fences, buildings, equipment.
Resolution: There are no rules broken or problems to resolve with the producer. The question appears to be one that should be discussed with the producer and the property owners who may not want a well operating around their houses. It cannot be resolved at this time with the COGCC rules.
Letter Sent?:     N Report Links:     

Other Notifications
Date:    6/25/2010 Agency:    COGCC Contact:    Jim Precup
Response or Details
I was contacted and talked to the complainant. I went out to the wellsite and noted that there was no fundamental problems with the wellhead and pumpjack. I did notice that the polished rod looked like it had not moved in some time. I looked the production up on the scoutcard and noticed that it was continuous and produced only gas since September of 2003.
 
Date:    6/25/2010 Agency:    Complainant Contact:    Dirk Belfork
Response or Details
Met with Mr. Belfork and told him that I had inspected the wellsite and there were no violations of concern. I also told him that there was no rule that allowed me to have this well PA'd as it had maintained continuous production since 2003. I told him that the well was producing gas and at this time did not require the active use of the pumpjack. He asked if KP Kauffman would be interested in plugging the well? I said I had no idea, but he was welcome to talk to them and ask them the same question. He said he really did not care if it stayed or went, but he was addressing the problem as a favor to one of his neighbors. I suggested his neighbor could call and talk to Kauffman about the issue and see what they had to say about it. I consider this complaint closed.
 

Final Resolution
Date Case Closed? Letter Sent? COGCC person
4/21/2010 Y Jim Precup

There are no rules broken or problems to resolve with the producer. The question appears to be one that should be discussed with the producer and the property owners who may not want a well operating around their houses. It cannot be resolved at this time with the COGCC rules.




Wednesday, August 21, 2019