COGIS - Complaint Reports

Form 18/18A                                                    Related   Doc
Date Rec'd: 5/19/2010 Method Received:   
DocNum: 200250258 Routed to Agency:  
Complaint Type: API number:   05-123-11397

Complainant Information

Name: Jeff Bernak
Address:   ,   
Date Received: 5/19/2010
Connection to Incident: tennant farmer

Description of Complaint:

Operator: ENERVEST OPERATING LLC
Oper. No.

10098

Date of Incident: 5/19/2010
Type of Facility: WELL
Well Name/No.  
County Name: WELD
Operator contact:
qtrqtr: SESE section: 20 township: 1N range: 63W meridian: 1


Complaint Issue
Issue:     PIPELINE Assigned To:    Robert Chesson Status:     Resolved     5/24/2010
Description: I was contacted on 5/14/2010 by Jeff Bernak about a gathering line leak on property he is tenant farming. He maintained that there had been parafin and gas leaking for some time and that it has caused some of the property to be sterile and unable to produce wheat. He told me that he had been told by someone from NOBLE to contact me and that I could possibly remedy the problem. He told me that he has had my number for two years.I asked if the gas and parafin was coming to surface and he said that it did last year, but he was not exactly sure where the hole was. He gave me an approximation based on where there is current wheat. He also told me that someone from NOBLE had GPS'd the location but he did not know what the persons name was, only that they were responsible for building battery sites.
Resolution: DCP Midstream excavated and shut-off uncapped former gathering line. No soils impacts. No fluids observed from former gathering line. Top soil mushy but at approx. 2 feet bgs soils very dry with no evidence of any fluid/water present. Surface 'mushy" like soils most likely due to surface water collection from run-off from higher ground east of filed area.
Letter Sent?:     N Report Links:     

Other Notifications
Date:    5/24/2010 Agency:    DCP Midstream Contact:    Chandler Cole
Response or Details
DCP excavated gathering line at location of leak and removed line from gathering system. No measurable methane in excavation or measuments of methane at surface. Leak has been repaired.
 
Date:    5/21/2010 Agency:    DCP Midstream Contact:    Chandler Cole
Response or Details
DCPM acknowledges it is a leak on their gathering line. Preperations in progress to access the location early next week to make repairs and initiate any remediation as needed.
 
Date:    5/18/2010 Agency:    DCP Midstream Contact:    Chandler Cole
Response or Details
Called DCP Mid re possible gatherline line leak. DCPM having Paul Park and Ivan contact Mr. Bernik and visit location to investigate.
 
Date:    5/17/2010 Agency:    COGCC Contact:    Bob Chesson/Jim Precup
Response or Details
BC and JP visited location in afternoon. Identified suspected flowline via metal detector. Runs approx N-S in line with unpermitted water well (?)and in line with possible pipeline valve access located approx. 1/4 mine to south. Area partially plowed but lack of vegetation is obvious in area approx. 75 yds in diameter near wwell (?). Approx. 50 feet north along trace of suspected line has noticable natural gas odors. Shallow pit dug in location had detectable methane (greater than 100 percent LEL. Pits dug 20 feet south and 20 feet north had no detectable gas. Likewise pits dug 20 feet east and west.
 

Final Resolution
Date Case Closed? Letter Sent? COGCC person
5/24/2010 Y Jim Precup

DCP Midstream excavated and shut-off uncapped former gathering line. No soils impacts. No fluids observed from former gathering line. Top soil mushy but at approx. 2 feet bgs soils very dry with no evidence of any fluid/water present. Surface 'mushy" like soils most likely due to surface water collection from run-off from higher ground east of filed area.




Monday, August 19, 2019