COGIS - Complaint Reports

Form 18/18A                                                    Related   Doc
Date Rec'd: 9/17/2009 Method Received:   
DocNum: 200218385 Routed to Agency:  
Complaint Type: API number:   05-013-06560

Complainant Information

Name: Karen Gunther
Address:   ,   
Date Received: 9/17/2009
Connection to Incident: home owner

Description of Complaint:

Operator: NOBLE ENERGY INC
Oper. No.

100322

Date of Incident: 9/17/2009
Type of Facility: WELL
Well Name/No.  
County Name: BOULDER
Operator contact:
qtrqtr: NWSW section: 23 township: 1N range: 69W meridian: 1


Complaint Issue
Issue:     NOISE Assigned To:    Jim Precup Status:     Resolved     9/22/2009
Description: Complainant claimed that the rig is making noises all night by blowing the doghouse horn and that there is a loud clanking noise at each connection. She also does not know why the operator has not placed straw bales around the drilling location to baffle the noise like they did on locations South of the current location. She says that she speaks for many of the people located around her subdivision and they have the same complaint.
Resolution: Resolved complaint by talking to Noble energy about the noise issues. They were more than accomodating in trying to deal with the problem by reducing the noise asociated with the movement of pipe and calling rig hands to the floor with the horn. They were on the tail end of their drilling program in this area. The reason they did not use bales, was that they were outside the boundaries of the municipality and felt like it wouldnot be a problem. I passed on the appropriate information to the complainant and explained the schedule for frac work and tubing the well. I also told them that although it was irritating, it was temporary and the operator was within the noise db levels. I also said that they could call if they had additional issues. I believe this resolved the problem.
Letter Sent?:     N Report Links:     

Other Notifications
Date:    9/17/2009 Agency:    noble energy Contact:    Martin M. Suarez
Response or Details
Talked to Martin Suarez and Don Cox about the noise complaint and found out they are currently running production casing. I told them I had not talked directly to the complainant at this time, but I was also assessing whether the Frac Jobs south of the current drilling site were the noise issue. I told them that after I reviewed all the associated possibilities in the area and talked to the complainant, I would get back in touch with them.
 
Date:    9/17/2009 Agency:    noble energy Contact:    Martin Suarez
Response or Details
After reviewing the options for the noise complaint. I called and talked directly to the complainant. I asked her where she lived and she gave me a visual direction of where she lived in reference to the drilling rig. I then was sure that the drilling rig was the noise source. I checked with the rig and talked to Mr. Suarez and Mr. Don Cox about the problem they assured me that there would be no horns this evenimg as they were about to cement the well and that would also eliminate the noise of the casing slamming against the automated lift. They also said that they would talk to their crews and reduce the noise as much as possible for the next well to be drilled on the site. I then called the complainant and explained the solutions to the noise problem. She seemed to be ok with the resolution--I also told her that the rig should be gone in eight to ten days and that she could call me if she had additional concerns. She said that she had talked to noble as well and they had similar information for their departure date.
 

Final Resolution
Date Case Closed? Letter Sent? COGCC person
9/22/2009 Y Jim Precup

Resolved complaint by talking to Noble energy about the noise issues. They were more than accomodating in trying to deal with the problem by reducing the noise asociated with the movement of pipe and calling rig hands to the floor with the horn. They were on the tail end of their drilling program in this area. The reason they did not use bales, was that they were outside the boundaries of the municipality and felt like it wouldnot be a problem. I passed on the appropriate information to the complainant and explained the schedule for frac work and tubing the well. I also told them that although it was irritating, it was temporary and the operator was within the noise db levels. I also said that they could call if they had additional issues. I believe this resolved the problem.




Friday, August 23, 2019